India

Joseph Radhik

Joseph Radhik

Joseph Radhik is one of India’s most well-known contemporary wedding photographers. Over a career that has spanned 8 years and over 300 weddings, he has crafted a style that is unique, vibrant and full of joy. Joseph is the winner of IPA New York’s global first place for weddings in 2015, a 3-time Fearless Award global winner, one of the top 25 wedding photographers in the world (2017 WPS), and one of the Top 10 Most Influential Photographers in Asia. He’s also an active educator and community builder in the portrait and wedding photography scene in Asia, with an initiative called PEP. Speaking on various platforms (TEDx, Global conferences and others), he extols the importance of self-learning and goal-setting. 

What keeps you inspired as a Wedding Photographer? 

My journey with wedding photography began with my sister’s wedding in 2008. Before that, I was an avid hobbyist photographer shooting sunsets and flowers. As I explored the genre and learned to master it, I was hooked. A year later, I took the plunge and shot a friend’s wedding, and things have never been the same since! I love bringing relationships to life in my images, whether it’s the love between bride and a groom, or within the family. Also I see weddings as fantasy events where I get to tell real stories. That paradox is what drives me. 

Describe your wedding photography style. 

My style can be defined by: real moments, and timeless portraits. I believe every wedding has to be approached in two ways: as a portrait photographer, creating images that will stand the test of time, and also as a photojournalist, who respects the important moments of a wedding, and always finds the best possible compositions within them. 

 

What are some challenges you face in Wedding Photography? 

I’ve found that mastering my equipment and actual physical endurance are the two biggest challenges. Indian weddings can span multiple days and it’s not uncommon to have 12-hour shoots for 3 continuous days. I need both my body and equipment in top shape to do my best. 

 

What are the important details needed for Wedding Photography? 

You need to know the type of ceremony, especially in India where there are more than 20 types of ceremonies! You also need to know the families and the intricacies of the relationships – a typical wedding in India hosts about 500 guests, some can go up to 140,000 guests! In this chaos, knowing what and who to photograph is key. Once this is sorted, I can take a risk or two which will hopefully result in an extraordinary image. That’s why it’s important to know your equipment inside and out – so that you are not reacting to moments, but hunting for them instead. 

 

What camera and lenses do you shoot with? 

My philosophy is to keep it simple. My kit includes 2 full-frame bodies, and 3 to 5 lenses which are the Alpha 7R III, Alpha 9, FE 16-35mm GM, Distagon T* FE 35mm F1.4 ZA, E 35mm F1.8 OSS, Zeiss Batis 1.8/85, as well as a tilted Zeiss 50/1.4 planar on an adapter.

 

How does your equipment support you in your photography? 

I love using Sony’s Alpha mirrorless cameras because they make the process fun and simple. Whether it’s the tilting live view, the fully electronic viewfinder, the magical Eye AF, the silent shutter (for use during emotional moments), or the really lightweight bodies that don’t take a toll on my body. These cameras make my job easy for me. 

 

Joseph's Gear

ILCE-7RM3

Alpha 7R III

ILCE-7RM3

ILCE-9

Alpha 9

ILCE-9

SEL1635GM

FE 16-35mm F2.8 GM

SEL1635GM

SEL35F14Z

Distagon T* FE 35mm F1.4 ZA

SEL35F14Z

SEL35F18

E 35mm F1.8 OSS

SEL35F18

印度

Joseph Radhik

Joseph Radhik

Joseph Radhik 是印度著名的當代婚禮攝影師。在他 8 年的婚禮攝影生涯中已拍攝過 300 場以上的婚禮,他打造出了一種獨特、活潑且充滿歡樂的影像風格。Joseph 是 2015 年 IPA 紐約婚禮攝影獎全球冠軍、3 次贏得 Fearless Award 全球大獎,且為全球前 25 大婚禮攝影師 (2017 WPS) 以及亞洲前 10 大最有影響力的攝影師。他在亞洲的肖像和婚禮攝影界也是一位熱心的教育者和社群營造者,並創立了一項名為 PEP 的計畫。他曾在多個平台上發表演講 (TEDx、Global Conferences 等),並推廣自學和訂定目標的重要性。 

是什麼促使您成為婚禮攝影師? 

我的婚禮攝影師之路是從 2008 年為我姊妹的婚禮攝影開始。在那之前,我只是個會拍攝夕陽和花朵的狂熱攝影愛好者。在我探索婚禮類型攝影,並學習如何駕馭相關技巧後,就徹底入迷了。一年後,我大膽嘗試為一位朋友的婚禮攝影,從此之後一切都變得截然不同了。無論是新郎和新娘之間的愛情或是家人之間的親情,我熱愛透過影像讓人與人之間的關係躍然紙上。我也將婚禮視為夢幻活動,因為我將在這裡敘說真實的故事。婚禮既夢幻又真實的衝突感,正是讓我繼續從事婚禮攝影的動力。

請說明您的婚禮攝影風格。 

我的風格可以如此定義:真實的時刻和歷久彌新的肖像。我相信我隨時都應透過兩種方式來拍攝婚禮:我必須擔任肖像攝影師,拍攝經得起時間考驗的影像;但也必須擔任攝影記者,尊重婚禮中重要的時刻,並在這些時刻中找到最佳構圖。

 

您在婚禮攝影時會遇到哪些挑戰? 

我發現有兩項最大的挑戰:駕馭我的設備,以及實際上的體力耐受程度。印度的婚禮可以延續數天。連續拍攝 3 天,每天拍攝 12 小時的狀況很常見。無論是我的身體或是設備都要維持在顛峰狀態,我的工作才能盡善盡美。

 

婚禮攝影需要注意哪些重要細節? 

瞭解婚禮以哪一種儀式進行很重要,尤其在印度,可是有 20 種以上的婚禮儀式!瞭解家庭極其錯綜複雜的關係也很重要,在印度,典型的婚禮會宴請約 500 位賓客,有些婚禮甚至有多達 140,000 位賓客!在這樣的混亂中,知道要拍攝什麼、拍攝誰很關鍵。弄清楚之後,我就能在拍攝時稍微冒一點險,並期望拍出精采絕倫的影像。這就是為什麼徹底瞭解自己的設備很重要,如此一來才不會只是在精彩時刻來臨時勉強反應,而是主動出擊。

 

您使用什麼款式的相機和鏡頭拍攝? 

我的理念是一切從簡。我用的工具有 2 台全片幅相機,加上 3 到 5 個鏡頭,分別為 Alpha 7R III、Alpha 9、FE 16-35 mm GM、Distagon T* FE 35 mm F1.4 ZA、E 35 mm F1.8 OSS、Zeiss Batis 1.8/85 以及安裝在轉接環上的翻轉式 Zeiss 50/1.4 Planar。

 

您的設備為您的攝影事業提供什麼幫助? 

我喜歡用 Sony 的 Alpha 無反光鏡相機,因為這些相機讓拍攝過程變得既有趣又簡單。無論是翻轉式即時檢視、完整的電子觀景窗與神奇的眼部偵測自動對焦功能、靜音快門 (在特別感人的時刻上使用) 或是完全不給身體造成負擔的輕巧機身,都讓我愛不釋手。這些相機讓我的工作變得輕鬆。

 

Joseph 的裝備

ILCE-7RM3

Alpha 7R III

ILCE-7RM3

ILCE-9

Alpha 9

ILCE-9

SEL1635GM

FE 16-35mm F2.8 GM

SEL1635GM

SEL35F14Z

Distagon® T* FE 35 mm F1.4 ZA

SEL35F14Z

SEL35F18

E 35 mm F1.8 OSS

SEL35F18